Media releases

December 1, 2014

Australians urged to vote for community health projects

With only four days left to vote it’s time for Australians to get behind their local not-for-profit organisations vying for a share in $600,000 worth of 2015 Medibank Community grants.

Medibank’s Head of Corporate Social Responsibility, Rita Marigliani said each project addresses an identified health need in the community including youth homelessness, social isolation, disability access and obesity.From more than 500 applications, 33 community projects have been shortlisted from across Australia including North Melbourne, Ballarat, Dandenong, Ingleburn, Moruya, Inverell, Balmain, Ambarvale, Welshpool, Karrinyup, Osborne, Dawesville,  Buderim, Southport, Toowomba, Durack, Nakara, Kent Town, Adelaide and Alberton.

“The community organisations shortlisted for a 2015 Medibank Community Grant play a vital role in bettering the health of Australians through their programs that promote healthy eating, physical activity and greater community connectedness”, said Ms Marigliani.

“They are all worthy of a share in $600,000 but we need the Australian public to help decide which programs are needed the most in the disadvantaged communities where they reside”.

Australians are urged to vote via

Voting closes 11:59pm December 5.

Winners will be announced December 11.


North Melbourne FC’s The Huddle (NORTH MELBOURNE), Macedonian Community Welfare Association (CAROLINE SPRINGS), The Malpa Project (GORDON), UnitingCare (BALLARAT), Whise Up for wellbeing (DANDENONG).

New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory:

Birunji Adult Mental Health Unit (INGLEBURN), CatholicCare Sydney (INGLEBURN), Headspace (QUEANBEYAN), Horticulture Therapy Society NSW (MORUYA), Mari Giwiirr Aboriginal Men's Group (INVERELL), Remote Indigenous Gardens Network Program (BALMAIN) and The Hub (AMBARVALE).

Western Australia:

Foodbank of Western Australia INC (WELSHPOOL), Life Education WA Inc (KARRINYUP), United Way West Australia Foundation (OSBORNE), Ocean Road Primary School (DAWESVILLE) and Mission Australia (PERTH).

South Australia:

'Life. Be in it'. SA Incorporated (KENT TOWN), Hutt Street Centre (ADELAIDE) and Port Adelaide FC Power Community Ltd (ALBERTON)


Pathways Tasmania Inc (HOBART)

Northern Territory:

Durack School (DURACK) and Nakara Preschool (NAKARA).


Buderim Men's Shed (BURDERIM), Happy Healthy Kidz Australia Inc (REDBANK), Queensland Outdoor Recreation Federation (MILTON), The Migrant Centre Organisation Inc (SOUTHPORT) and Toowoomba Regional Council (TOOWOOMBA).



Back to top